PRINCE2 Recognition of prior learning for PMPs

Odoo image and text block

How do PMPs gain PRINCE2 certification?

If you are a current PMP you can get recognition for your prior learning when taking PRINCE2 examinations. You don't need to take the PRINCE2 foundation exam and can go straight to the Practitioner level.

We have designed special PRINCE2 classes for PMPs 

Instructor Led or by Online Learning.   Both options cover everything you need, at all levels, to get your ready for the Practitioner exam.
  • Learn More  about PRINCE2 certification for PMPs

How do PMPs claim PRINCE2 recognition?

Before taking your PRINCE2 Practitioner exam, send us a copy of PMP certificate which you can download in your profile at the PMI website.  This information is submitted to the Exam Institute so that you exempt from taking the PRINCE2 Foundation exam.

What does a PMP need to know before taking PRINCE2 Practitioner?

4 levels of PRINCE2 learning PRINCE2 learning exists at 4 levels using the internationally accepted Bloom's taxonomy.

Current PMPs are tested at Levels 3 and 4 only.  PRINCE2's learning levels are:

  • Level 1 - Memory - the ability to recall facts

  • Level 2 - Comprehension - being able to describe or compare these facts

  • Level 3 - Application - using knowledge to solve problems

  • Level 4 - Analysis - breaking information down and being able to present evidence

Levels 1 & 2 are covered by the PRINCE2 Foundation syllabus.  If you master this you understand the PRINCE2 method, know what everything is called and can work confidently in a PRINCE2 environment Levels 3 & 4 relate to the PRINCE2 Practitioner syllabus.  A successful exam candidate at this level can apply PRINCE2 to differing scenarios and explain why these choices are right in particular circumstances.  They can adopt and adapt the methodology successfully.

So PMPs have one less exam to think about?

Correct.  You save costs with one less exam and you can focus on 1 goal - getting your PRINCE2 Practitioner certification. But remember:  you still need to learn PRINCE2 at the Foundation level, even if you don't have to take the exam. Think of it this way; if, in a Physics class,  I said "explain the concept of mass-energy equivalence" you need to know this relates the equation E=MC2 and that E = Energy, M = Mass and C = the speed of light.  This factual (foundation) level knowledge is a pre-requisite to moving onto higher levels such as explanation, judgement and analysis.

Does this apply to any other qualifications?

Yes, recognition is given for these qualifications:

Project Management Institute:

  • Project Management Professional (PMP)

  • Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)

International Project Management Association:

  • IPMA Level A - Certified Projects Director

  • IPMA Level B - Certified Senior Project Manager

  • IPMA Level C - Certified Project Manager

  • IPMA Level D - Certified Project Management Associate

At IPMA Level D - national chapter equivalents are also recognized.  In the United States this is the American Society for the Advancement of Project Management Certified Project Management Associate.  In the United Kingdom, this is the Association for Project Management APMP certificate.